Summit Appliance Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range or Summit Appliance Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range? Which Summit Appliance Model to Buy
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This summary compares the summit appliance summit 30 inch 4 element electric range vs summit 30 gas model from Summit Appliance. Both units share a 30-inch width, white porcelain and steel construction, and upfront control knobs for easy access. The main difference lies in the heat source. One uses electric coil elements, while the other relies on natural gas open burners. You need to decide which fuel type fits your kitchen infrastructure and cooking habits.
Key differences
| Aspect | Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range | Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel Type | Electric | Gas |
| Burner Type | 6-inch and 8-inch elements | Open burners |
| Maximum BTU | not listed | 9,000 BTU |
| Oven Capacity | not listed | 3.7 cu. ft. |
| Weight | 175 pounds | 172 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range if
- You prefer electric heating elements for consistent, radiant heat.
- You want safety features like low-wattage safety burners and an on-light indicator.
- You do not have a natural gas line available in your kitchen.
Choose Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range if
- You want precise temperature control with open gas burners.
- You need a visible BTU rating to gauge burner power.
- You require a lower drop-down broiler compartment for versatile cooking.
Verdict: Choose the electric model if you prioritize safety indicators and radiant element cooking. Select the gas range if you prefer open flames and need specific BTU data for your cooking style. Both options offer durable construction and accessible upfront controls.
Key Differences Between Summit Models
Fuel type
You must choose between electricity and natural gas. The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range runs on electric power. It uses three 6-inch and one large 8-inch heating element. The Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range uses natural gas. It features four open burners. This model comes with a pre-installed 115V 3-prong cord for spark ignition. You need a gas line connection for the gas model. The electric model needs a standard electrical outlet. Your existing kitchen infrastructure determines which fuel type works for you.
Burner type
The heating elements differ significantly between the two units. The electric range uses solid coil elements. It includes three standard 6-inch elements and one larger 8-inch element. The gas range uses four open burners. Each burner provides 9,000 BTU of heat output. Open burners allow for faster heat transfer and precise flame control. Solid electric elements provide consistent, even heat distribution. You might prefer the immediate response of gas flames. You might prefer the steady warmth of electric coils. Both setups offer four distinct cooking zones for your meals.
Oven capacity
Oven space is critical for baking large dishes. The Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range lists an oven capacity of 3.7 cubic feet. This provides ample room for roasts or multiple trays. The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range does not list a specific oven volume in its published specifications. You cannot confirm if it holds more or less food than the gas model. If interior space is your top priority, the gas model offers a verified measurement. You should measure your largest cookware against the 3.7 cubic foot volume.
Safety features
Both models include upfront controls to keep hands away from heat. The electric range adds a digital control panel with an 'on' light. This light indicates when the oven and burners are active. It helps prevent accidental cooking or burning. The gas range includes a spark ignition system for reliable lighting. It also comes with an anti-tip bracket for stability. Both units feature porcelain construction for easy cleaning. The electric model highlights low-wattage safety burners. The gas model emphasizes ADA-compliant controls for accessibility.
Weight and build
Weight affects installation and floor support requirements. The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range weighs 175 pounds. The Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range weighs 172 pounds. The difference is minimal, at only three pounds. Both units use porcelain and steel construction. This material choice ensures durability and simplifies cleaning. The gas model provides exact dimensions of 40.0 inches in height. The electric model lists a depth of 24 inches. Both share a standard 30-inch width for cabinet compatibility.
Which Summit Range Fits Your Kitchen
Cooking with precise open flames
You need the heat control of natural gas. This model features four open burners rated at 9,000 BTU each. The 3.7 cu. ft. oven capacity accommodates larger dishes. You also get a lower drop-down broiler compartment for versatile cooking. The upfront knobs keep your hands away from hot grates while you adjust settings.
Preferring electric heating elements
You prefer electric power for consistent heat distribution. This unit includes three 6-inch elements and one large 8-inch element. A digital clock and timer help you track cooking times accurately. The safety burners offer low-wattage outputs for gentle simmering. An on light for the oven and burners adds a layer of safety during operation.
Prioritizing oven interior space
You need more room for large roasts or multiple trays. The gas model provides a 3.7 cu. ft. oven interior. It includes two adjustable racks to hold various pan sizes. The drop-down broiler compartment sits below the main oven. This setup offers substantial volume for baking and roasting tasks without crowding your cookware.
The products compared
Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range
Best for: Users seeking safe, accessible electric cooking
- Fuel Type
- Electric
- Width
- 30"
- Oven Capacity
- 3.7 cu.ft
- Number of Burners
- 4
- Burner Type
- Coil
- Control Type
- Knobs
View on Amazon: Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range Affiliate link
This 30-inch electric range features four heating elements, including one large 8-inch element and three 6-inch elements. It uses porcelain and steel construction with front-mounted knobs for easy access. The control panel includes an 'on' light for safety. A bottom drop-down compartment provides storage. It weighs 175 pounds and includes a digital clock and timer.
Pros
- Front-mounted control knobs for safe access
- Four heating elements including a large 8-inch option
- Safety 'on' light indicator on control panel
- Bottom drop-down storage compartment
Cons
- Electric fuel type limits cooking speed compared to gas
- No digital display for precise temperature control
- Standard 6-inch elements may not fit large cookware
Good fit if
- You need a reliable electric range with front controls
- You prefer porcelain and steel construction
- You want a bottom storage compartment
Skip if
- You require gas burners for faster heating
- You need precise digital temperature control
- You prefer a lighter appliance under 150 pounds
Verdict: Summit 30" Electric Range offers practical front controls and durable construction for users who prioritize safety and easy access over rapid heating speeds.
Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range
Best for: small kitchens needing reliable gas heat
- Fuel Type
- Gas
- Width
- 30 in.
- Oven Capacity
- 3.7 cu. ft.
- Number of Burners
- 4
- Burner Type
- Open
- Gas Type
- Natural gas
View on Amazon: Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range Affiliate link
This 30-inch gas range offers four open 9,000 BTU burners and a 3.7 cu. ft. oven. It features a compact 24-inch depth, making it suitable for smaller kitchens. The unit includes a lower drop-down broiler compartment and ADA-compliant upfront controls. Made in the USA, it uses porcelain and steel construction for durability. Spark ignition ensures reliable operation.
Pros
- Four open 9,000 BTU burners for consistent heat
- Compact 24-inch depth fits small kitchens
- ADA-compliant upfront controls for easier access
- Lower drop-down broiler compartment adds cooking versatility
Cons
- Smaller 3.7 cu. ft. oven capacity limits large meal prep
- No convection fan listed for even baking
- Heavier build at 172 pounds requires careful handling
Good fit if
- You need a compact range for a small kitchen
- You prefer upfront controls for easier access
- You want a gas range made in the USA
Skip if
- You require a larger oven for family meals
- You need convection baking for even cooking
- You prefer a lighter appliance for easy moving
Verdict: Summit 30-Inch Gas Range is a practical choice for small kitchens needing reliable gas heat. Its compact size and upfront controls suit those with limited space or mobility needs. It delivers solid performance for everyday cooking tasks.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range | Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel Type | Electric | Gas |
| Width | 30" | 30 in. |
| Oven Capacity | 3.7 cu.ft | 3.7 cu. ft. |
| Number of Burners | 4 | 4 |
| Burner Type | Coil | Open |
| Gas Type | not stated | Natural gas |
| Control Type | Knobs | Knobs |
| Maximum BTU | not stated | 9,000 BTU |
| Color | White | White |
| Size | not stated | 30 Inch |
| Weight | 175 pounds | 172 pounds |
| Dimensions | not stated | 24 × 30 × 40 inches |
| Model | WEM230KW | WNM2107 |
Frequently asked questions
Which Summit 30-inch range is better for small kitchens?
The Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range suits small kitchens best. Its compact design and upfront controls help users with limited space or mobility needs. The 3.7 cubic foot oven capacity handles everyday cooking tasks well. You get reliable gas heat in a footprint that fits tighter areas.
Does the Summit electric range have a large heating element?
Yes, the Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range includes varied element sizes. It features three 6-inch elements and one large 8-inch heating element. This setup allows you to cook different pot sizes simultaneously. The electric power provides steady heat for general cooking needs.
How heavy is the Summit gas range compared to the electric model?
The Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range weighs 172 pounds. The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range is slightly heavier at 175 pounds. Both units are substantial appliances. You should ensure your floor can support these weights during installation.
What is the oven capacity of the Summit gas range?
The Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range offers a 3.7 cubic foot oven capacity. This space accommodates larger dishes for family meals. It provides solid performance for everyday cooking tasks. You can fit standard roasting pans inside comfortably.
Are the controls located at the front for both models?
Yes, both models feature upfront control knobs. This design places dials within easy reach. You do not need to reach over hot burners to adjust settings. The front placement improves accessibility and safety during cooking.
What color are these Summit appliance ranges?
Both the Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range and the Summit 30-Inch Upfront Control Gas Range come in white. The white finish matches standard kitchen decor. You get a clean look that blends with other white appliances in your kitchen.

