Summit Appliance Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range vs Summit Appliance Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range: Spec Comparison
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
The summit appliance summit 30 inch 4 element electric range vs summit 20 comparison helps you choose between two electric cooking solutions from the same brand. Both units are fully electric and feature four burners with upfront controls for safe, easy access. The main difference is size. One is a standard 30-inch wide range, while the other is a compact 20-inch model designed for smaller spaces. You need to decide which width fits your kitchen layout and cooking volume.
Key differences
| Aspect | Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range | Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range |
|---|---|---|
| Width | 30 inches | 20 inches |
| Color | White | Stainless Steel |
| Installation Type | not listed | Slide-in |
| Oven Capacity | not listed | 2.3 cu. ft. |
| Burner Type | 6-inch and 8-inch elements | Radiant electric |
| Weight | 175 pounds | 100 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range if
- You need a full-size 30-inch range to match standard kitchen cabinetry.
- You prefer a white finish that contrasts with stainless steel appliances.
- You want larger 8-inch heating elements for bigger cookware.
Choose Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range if
- You have a small apartment or limited counter space under 20 inches wide.
- You want a stainless steel finish for a modern look.
- You prefer a slide-in installation style with a removable backguard.
Verdict: Choose the 30-inch model if you need standard kitchen width and larger burner sizes. Pick the 20-inch stainless steel range if space is tight or you want a compact slide-in design. Both offer electric reliability and safe upfront controls.
Spec Comparison: 30-Inch vs 20-Inch Ranges
Width and Space
The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range is a substantial unit, measuring 30 inches wide and 24 inches deep. It requires a dedicated, spacious kitchen layout to fit properly. In contrast, the Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range is designed for compact areas. Its width is listed as 20 inches in the key specs, though the specs section lists 15 inches, with a depth of 24.25 inches. This smaller footprint makes the 20-inch model ideal for apartments, dorms, or secondary kitchens where counter space is limited. You must measure your available space carefully before choosing between these two significantly different widths.
Burner Configuration
Both ranges provide four electric burners, but the heating elements differ in size and type. The 30-inch model features three standard 6-inch elements and one large 8-inch element, offering varied heating options for different cookware sizes. The 20-inch model utilizes four identical 6 1/2-inch radiant electric elements, each producing 1200 watts. This uniform configuration ensures consistent heating across the cooktop. While the 30-inch range offers a larger single burner for big pots, the 20-inch range provides four evenly sized burners, which may be preferable for preparing multiple smaller dishes simultaneously.
Oven Capacity
Oven volume is a key differentiator for your cooking needs. The Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range explicitly states an oven capacity of 2.3 cubic feet. This compact volume is suitable for smaller meals, casseroles, or baking for one to two people. The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range does not list a specific cubic foot capacity in the provided data. However, given its larger 30-inch width and standard drop-down compartment design, it likely offers more interior space than the 20-inch model. If you need to roast a whole chicken or bake large batches, the larger footprint of the 30-inch unit suggests greater utility.
Build and Design
Construction materials and aesthetics vary between the two units. The 30-inch range is built with porcelain and steel construction and comes in a white finish. It features a bottom drop-down compartment, typical of traditional freestanding ranges. The 20-inch range features a stainless steel finish with black trim on the oven window and handle, offering a modern look. It includes a removable 2-inch high stainless steel backguard, allowing for a standard or slide-in installation style. The 20-inch unit also weighs 100 pounds, while the 30-inch model weighs 175 pounds, reflecting the difference in material and size.
Safety Features
Both models prioritize safety with upfront controls and indicator lights. The 30-inch range places all knobs on the front panel, allowing you to adjust heating without reaching over hot burners. It includes an 'on' light for the oven and burners, plus safety burners with low-wattage outputs. The 20-inch range also features an ADA-compliant upfront control panel to prevent reaching over the cooktop. It includes a hot surface indicator light for added safety. Both designs ensure you can operate the appliances without exposure to the hot cooking surface, making them safe choices for various household environments.
Which range fits your kitchen
Standard kitchen with ample counter space
You need a full-size cooking unit for a standard kitchen layout. This 30-inch model offers four elements, including one large 8-inch burner for bigger pots. The 175-pound weight and porcelain steel construction provide stability. Front-facing knobs allow safe adjustments without reaching over hot surfaces, making it ideal for daily family meals.
Small apartment or studio resident
Space is limited in your apartment or studio. This 20-inch range fits tight areas while still providing four 1200W radiant elements on a smooth ceramic surface. The 2.3 cubic foot oven capacity handles everyday cooking needs. Its compact 100-pound weight and slide-in design make it easy to integrate into smaller, modern kitchen layouts without overwhelming the room.
User requiring ADA compliant controls
You need accessible controls that do not require bending or reaching over the cooktop. This unit features an upfront control panel designed for ADA compliance. The waist-high broiler function and adjustable slide-out racks add versatility. The stainless steel finish and removable backguard offer a modern look while ensuring safe, easy operation for users with mobility considerations.
The products compared
Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range
Best for: Kitchens needing 30-inch wide electric range with front controls
- Fuel Type
- Electric
- Width
- 30"
- Oven Capacity
- 3.7 cu.ft
- Number of Burners
- 4
- Burner Type
- Coil
- Control Type
- Knobs
View on Amazon: Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range Affiliate link
This Summit 30-inch electric range offers a white porcelain and steel build with four coil elements. It features three 6-inch and one 8-inch burner for flexible cooking. The front-mounted knobs allow easy access without reaching over hot surfaces. A bottom drop-down compartment provides storage. The control panel includes safety lights. It weighs 175 pounds and includes a digital clock and timer.
Pros
- Front-mounted control knobs for easy access
- Four-element configuration with one large 8-inch burner
- Bottom drop-down storage compartment
- Safety burners with low-wattage outputs
- Digital clock and timer included
Cons
- Only one large 8-inch burner
- Standard coil elements rather than smooth top
- No digital oven temperature display
Good fit if
- You need a 30-inch wide replacement range
- You prefer front-mounted controls for safety
- You want a bottom storage compartment
Skip if
- You require a smooth glass cooktop
- You need more than one large high-heat burner
- You want a stainless steel finish
Verdict: Summit 30-Inch White Electric Range fits kitchens needing a 30-inch wide electric unit with front controls. It suits those who value accessible knobs and bottom storage over a modern smooth top.
Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range
Best for: small apartments needing compact width
- Fuel Type
- Electric
- Width
- 20"
- Oven Capacity
- 2.3 cu.ft.
- Number of Burners
- 4
- Color
- Stainless Steel
- Dimensions
- 15.3 × 15 × 17.5 inches
View on Amazon: Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range Affiliate link
This Summit Appliance range is a compact 20-inch electric unit designed for smaller kitchens. It features four 1200W radiant elements on a smooth ceramic glass cooktop. The 2.3 cu. ft. oven includes a broiler and adjustable slide-out racks. Upfront controls make it ADA compliant. The stainless steel finish and removable backguard allow for a slide-in look.
Pros
- Four 1200W radiant heating elements
- ADA compliant upfront controls
- Removable stainless steel backguard
- 2.3 cu. ft. oven capacity
Cons
- 20-inch width limits burner space
- 2.3 cu. ft. oven is small
- No included power cord
Good fit if
- You need a compact 20-inch range
- You want ADA compliant upfront controls
- You prefer a slide-in aesthetic
Skip if
- You require a full 30-inch width
- You need a large oven capacity
- You want a standard backguard design
Verdict: Summit 20" Electric Range suits those with limited kitchen width who need accessible upfront controls. It fits small apartments where space is the primary constraint.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range | Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range |
|---|---|---|
| Fuel Type | Electric | Electric |
| Width | 30" | 20" |
| Oven Capacity | 3.7 cu.ft | 2.3 cu.ft. |
| Number of Burners | 4 | 4 |
| Burner Type | Coil | not stated |
| Control Type | Knobs | not stated |
| Color | White | Stainless Steel |
| Weight | 175 pounds | 100 pounds |
| Dimensions | not stated | 15.3 × 15 × 17.5 inches |
| Model | WEM230KW | REX2071SSRT |
Frequently asked questions
What is the weight difference between the two Summit electric ranges?
The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range weighs 175 pounds, while the Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range weighs 100 pounds. This 75-pound difference reflects the larger size and heavier construction of the full-size model. You should consider this weight when planning for floor support or moving the unit into your kitchen.
Are both ranges electric or do they use gas?
Both the Summit 30-Inch and the Summit 20-Inch models are fully electric ranges. Neither unit requires a gas line connection. You will need a standard electrical outlet to power either appliance, making them suitable for homes or apartments that do not have natural gas infrastructure installed.
What colors are available for these Summit electric ranges?
The Summit 30-Inch 4-Element Electric Range comes in white. The Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range is finished in stainless steel. You should choose the color that best matches your existing kitchen decor or cabinetry to ensure a cohesive look in your cooking space.
Which range is better for a very small apartment?
The Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range is better for small apartments. It has a width of 15 inches and a height of 17.5 inches, making it highly compact. The Summit 30-Inch model is significantly larger and requires more floor space, which may not fit in tight quarters.
Do these ranges have front-mounted controls?
Yes, both ranges feature upfront controls. The Summit 30-Inch model has front controls for easy access. The Summit 20-Inch model also includes upfront controls. This design allows you to adjust settings without reaching over hot burners, which improves safety and convenience during cooking.
What are the dimensions of the smaller Summit electric range?
The Summit 20-Inch Stainless Steel Electric Range measures 15 inches in width, 15.3 inches in length, and 17.5 inches in height. These compact dimensions allow it to fit into small spaces where a standard full-size range would not fit. It is designed for kitchens with limited counter or floor area.

